In compliance with Executive Order No. 138, s. 2021 or the full devolution of certain functions of the Executive Branch to Local Governments in support of the efficient implementation of the Mandanas-Garcia Ruling, the National Irrigation Administration Regional Office No. 5 through the Albay-Catanduanes Irrigation Management Office (ACIMO) successfully devolved six (6) Communal Irrigation Systems (CIS) to the municipality of Malinao, Malilipot and Tabaco City, all from the Province of Albay.

NIA Acting Regional Manager Roberto J. Dela Cruz, ACIMO Acting Manager Jessie D. Baynas, Regional IDS Chief Marilou O. Oatemar, Mayor Kricel Lagman-Luistro of Tabaco City together with Ms. Romela F. Montesinay, Municipal Agriculturist of LGU-Malilipot, and Ms. Joan C. Callos, OIC Municipal Agriculturist of LGU Malinao and other key personnel were present for the MOU signing and acceptance of 6 CIS duly represented by their respective IAs.

The devolved CIS are as follows: Basagan CIS, San Antonio CIS, and BBMAGUI CIS to Tabaco City LGU; Diaro CIS to Malinao LGU; and Sta. Teresa and Canaway CIS to Malilipot LGU.

RM Dela Cruz, in his speech, relayed his confidence in the cycle of progress brought about by the devolution citing the enthusiasm and acceptance from the local government units.

On the part of the LGU, Mayor Luistro, along with the representatives of the two municipalities, pledged to continue to support the farmers through programs and projects directed to the empowerment of the agricultural sector.

#bayaNIAn #TuloyAngDaloyNIA #niar5